Thursday, January 31, 2019
OPINION --- The biggest spend in the township's history could serve taxpayers very well into the future, or they could be left with a very sour taste in their mouths and they will remember that taste when it comes time to mark their ballots in 2022.
Friday, January 25, 2019
OPINION --- I have a ridiculous, jealous hound and a fascinating lizard. I have what's known as a first world problem I guess but one that you'll hear more about, I'm sure.
Thursday, February 7, 2019
OPINION --- One night in a cold car may very well change your attitude towards homeless people and make us all a little more empathetic to the cause.
Friday, February 15, 2019
OPINION --- As for the shortage of JPs that got us into this mess in the first place, we can only hope the current provincial government keeps its eye on the prize and ensures that Ontario addresses JP shortages in a timely manner in future.
Friday, February 15, 2019
OPINION --- So ... did I try it? Do I jump off of bridges? Was my buddy jumping off bridges? No way.
Friday, January 25, 2019
OPINION --- So, perhaps the best and most meaningful resolution we can all make heading into a new year is to change our lifestyles to generate a positive impact on the wold in which we live.
Friday, January 25, 2019
OPINION --- The county would do well to have a chat with David O'Brien about a way forward when it comes to government reform. Clearly, this is destined to be a long and onerous process. It is something that should be commenced in 2019.
Friday, January 11, 2019
OPINION --- Minden Hills needs to be careful in its consideration of the new arena development proposal as the clock ticks down toward a final decision.
Friday, January 11, 2019
OPINION --- Bruce 'the barber' Sawyer, friend to me and many, many other folks both near and fear, has taken leave of this earth and gone to chase bear, moose and deer in heaven.
Friday, January 18, 2019
OPINION --- When it comes to politics, change can often be a frustratingly slow thing. But patience must be granted to new councils given the time it takes to enact change.
Friday, January 18, 2019
OPINION --- I haven’t been ice fishing this winter, not once. I’m struggling with it, you see. Not in a ‘don’t want to fish’ way but more of a ‘can’t bring myself to go stand out on a frozen lake, getting blast chilled by frigid winds.
Thursday, February 21, 2019
OPINION --- In all cases, everybody's heart was in the right place. However, sometimes you have to step back from your little piece of turf to see the expansiveness of your lawn and what could be seeded there for the future.
Thursday, February 21, 2019
OPINION --- Physician recruitment is a worthy and necessary undertaking for a municipal government, just as is economic development. However, having just one person beating the drum for all of Haliburton County makes much more sense.
Thursday, March 21, 2019
OPINION --- Dysart et al is getting it wrong when it comes to summer ice at A.J. LaRue Arena. A girls-centred hockey program trying to get day ice should be accommodated.
Friday, April 12, 2019
OPINION --- With our local MP and MPP visiting Haliburton this month, constituents should give them a piece of their minds.
Friday, April 12, 2019
OPINION --- They may as well have pre-chewed it for me. That was how disgusted I was.
Wednesday, April 17, 2019
OPINION: Our planet and environment are being damaged by mankind, but there is hope in the actions being taken by local youth and communities.
Thursday, March 21, 2019
OPINION --- Will Jones got to ride a vintage snowmobile. His thoughts? Well, after a tippy ride out, he decided his best option was the 5-km return by foot!
Thursday, March 14, 2019
OPINION --- To clean the car, especially now with the dirty end of winter well and truly upon us, is to embark upon a futile and thankless task that I really do not enjoy.
Thursday, February 21, 2019
OPINION --- So, no, there is no real use for a scooter, and short of making for 10 minutes of good conversation, I can safely say the same for kick sleds, too.
Friday, March 1, 2019
OPINION --- While for some of us winter has been way too long, for others it's a case of 'keep on coming.'
Friday, March 1, 2019
OPINION --- I've seen the monster home. I've looked into its eyes and I'm afraid for our paradise, very afraid.
Thursday, March 14, 2019
OPINION --- We should all keep a close eye on what is unfolding, and not let this, or any provincial government, take away what we have fought long and hard to establish: universal health care for all.
Thursday, April 18, 2019
OPINION --- The province is introducing too many measures that promote alcohol, despite its negative impacts on public health.
1 2 3 4 5 6 7