Thursday, December 6, 2018
OPINION --- Jack Brezina says if Premier Dough Ford wants a smaller City of Toronto then maybe it's time for him to consider making Toronto Canada's 11th province.
Thursday, December 6, 2018
OPINION --- We covered all of the council inaugurations this week. They were positive with a lot of platitudes. But, now, it's time to get back to work. One thing that should be added is town hall meetings.
Thursday, December 6, 2018
OPINION --- Someone called Will Jones 'old.' He can live with that. Sort of. But he would have preferred they came up with a better adjective. Just like 'old' as a description of cheese just doesn't cut it for The Outsider.
Wednesday, December 19, 2018
OPINION --- A pair of deer stranded on a frozen Lake Kashagawigamog were rescued by a group. They used good common sense in their efforts and deserve commendation.
Wednesday, December 19, 2018
OPINION --- I experienced more than my fair share of queuing last weekend. Serves me right really, for going to the city.
Thursday, November 29, 2018
OPINION --- I have a snazzy new super smart phone now but all I can think of is the two hours that I lost last weekend. Two hours that I can never get back.
Thursday, November 29, 2018
OPINION --- After two Santa Claus parades, a Festival of Trees and a Christmas Shindig - thanks Haliburton County for dragging me into an early Christmas spirit.
Thursday, November 15, 2018
OPINION --- We can only hope the Ford government continues to decrease the cost of living without hitting social services any further, or environmental programs, for example.
Thursday, November 15, 2018
OPINION --- Are you ready for Christmas? The Outsider informs us there are 40 shopping days left, and only 12 if you can only spend your money on weekends.
Tuesday, November 27, 2018
OPINION --- We also anticipate that our councils will likely opt in to allow retail cannabis stores here. It is hardly the time to shut the door now that the federal cannabis legalization horse has bolted.
Tuesday, November 27, 2018
OPINION --- However, due to my ever-lengthening age and wisdom, I'm learning. I'm learning new words like yim-yaw. I'm learning that one day I might be able to flip a bottle cap but I'll probably never be a crack shot with a rifle.
Saturday, December 22, 2018
OPINION --- Local municipalities deserve praise for opting-in to retail cannabis. The opposition to it has been unwarranted and there is no use dragging feet on the sale of the substance.
Saturday, December 22, 2018
OPINION -- To wear a tie or not to wear a tie, that is the question, or was the question that I found myself asking as I dressed for my lovely wife's Christmas party.
Friday, January 25, 2019
OPINION --- I have a ridiculous, jealous hound and a fascinating lizard. I have what's known as a first world problem I guess but one that you'll hear more about, I'm sure.
Thursday, January 31, 2019
OPINION --- The biggest spend in the township's history could serve taxpayers very well into the future, or they could be left with a very sour taste in their mouths and they will remember that taste when it comes time to mark their ballots in 2022.
Thursday, February 7, 2019
OPINION --- One night in a cold car may very well change your attitude towards homeless people and make us all a little more empathetic to the cause.
Friday, February 15, 2019
OPINION --- As for the shortage of JPs that got us into this mess in the first place, we can only hope the current provincial government keeps its eye on the prize and ensures that Ontario addresses JP shortages in a timely manner in future.
Friday, January 25, 2019
OPINION --- So, perhaps the best and most meaningful resolution we can all make heading into a new year is to change our lifestyles to generate a positive impact on the wold in which we live.
Friday, January 25, 2019
OPINION --- The county would do well to have a chat with David O'Brien about a way forward when it comes to government reform. Clearly, this is destined to be a long and onerous process. It is something that should be commenced in 2019.
Friday, January 11, 2019
OPINION --- Minden Hills needs to be careful in its consideration of the new arena development proposal as the clock ticks down toward a final decision.
Friday, January 11, 2019
OPINION --- Bruce 'the barber' Sawyer, friend to me and many, many other folks both near and fear, has taken leave of this earth and gone to chase bear, moose and deer in heaven.
Friday, January 18, 2019
OPINION --- When it comes to politics, change can often be a frustratingly slow thing. But patience must be granted to new councils given the time it takes to enact change.
Friday, January 18, 2019
OPINION --- I haven’t been ice fishing this winter, not once. I’m struggling with it, you see. Not in a ‘don’t want to fish’ way but more of a ‘can’t bring myself to go stand out on a frozen lake, getting blast chilled by frigid winds.
Friday, February 15, 2019
OPINION --- So ... did I try it? Do I jump off of bridges? Was my buddy jumping off bridges? No way.
1 2 3 4 5 6 7