Thursday, September 11, 2014
OPINION -- Actually, no one does. Recently I had to go to the dentist because my lower right wisdom tooth hurt pretty badly. So Dr. Smolen prescribed me some antibiotics, professional non-alcoholic mouthwash, and Tylenol. He also told me that I need...
Thursday, September 11, 2014
OPINION -- How to describe the exquisite non-silence of early morning in the Haliburton countryside? How to convey the magnitude of the sense of place as I sit quietly waiting for the dawn to fully arrive? How to get across to you, fair reader, the...
Wednesday, September 3, 2014
EDITORIAL -- It was about the time I got halfway to Kingston that I realized the summer was pretty well over. We were on our way to visit Ashley’s family for one last get together before Christmas – her brother is headed back to university later...
Wednesday, September 3, 2014
OPINION -- In Minden last weekend, Matthew attended a Q&A hosted by reeve Barb Reid. Many of the questions were of the usual variety – policies, services, taxes and such – but there were also comments about media coverage of Minden Hills.
Wednesday, September 3, 2014
OPINION -- Larry was desperate to go outside. There were uppity, taunting creatures hanging around the backyard and it was his job to protect and defend. Unfortunately Larry was unable to open the door himself and so had to rely on other family...
Wednesday, September 3, 2014
OPINION -- I thought I would do something a little different and write about one of my historical interests, Norse mythology. I also want to someday write about Greek and Egyptian mythology. I became interested in mythology when I was younger...
Wednesday, September 3, 2014
OPINION -- Tomorrow is a big day, an important day in the Jones household. It's a day that we anticipate with slightly differing amounts of excitement and trepidation each year. It's a day we mark on the calendar and count down to.
Thursday, August 28, 2014
EDITORIAL -- Tourists alone are not the answer to Haliburton County’s economic woes, but most county politicians would probably say they are at least part of it. That’s why so much of their efforts are dedicated to bringing in more tourists. Efforts
Thursday, August 28, 2014
OPINION -- Election signs are up around the county earlier this year, offering local and seasonal residents plenty of time to have candidates’ names burned into their memory as they drive by the cardboard placards. One of my first post-university
Thursday, August 28, 2014
OPINION -- Art, in the not so distant past, was defined by ‘isms’ which signified various movements or styles. Some examples of isms are Expressionism, Abstract expressionism, Classicism, Cubism, Realism, and Surrealism. They all had their adherents
Thursday, August 28, 2014
OPINION -- I am a tall and physically strong person, but I don’t think people know how sensitive I am to the things people say to me. What may seem like harmless joking can take me down into a pit of despair and sadness. I am upset right now as I write
Thursday, August 28, 2014
OPINION -- s rights of passage or major firsts go with regards to mine and my family's life in Canada, it probably isn't really up there with taking our inaugural canoe trip, shooting my first deer (something I have yet to achieve), or being formally
Thursday, August 21, 2014
EDITORIAL -- Highland Street was lined on both sides with parked cars, bumper to bumper, possibly indicating a very busy day for the village’s retailers. It was Come to Town Tuesdays, after all – the BIA’s initiative to attract shoppers by extending store
Thursday, August 21, 2014
OPINION -- The problem of low voter turnout has been noted for some time by politicians and those who watch them. If the October municipal election is like others before, maybe half of eligible voters will get off their duffs to cast a ballot.
Thursday, August 21, 2014
OPINION -- It was hard to put delicately, to gild my words in roses, to bring to general attention without fear of, how should I put it, literal guttural consternation. But something had to be said, especially as a good proportion of our party were
Thursday, August 21, 2014
OPINION -- They hadn’t spoken to each other for ten years. It had started with Amy’s pet rabbit getting loose at the cottage. Amy and Celia were sisters with cottages side-by-side and young children close in age. The two women spent the summers in cottage
Thursday, August 21, 2014
Opinion -- As most of you probably know by now, we have lost a great comedian, father and actor, Robin Williams. I am greatly affected by his death, because in taking his own life it was a permanent solution to a temporary problem and suicide is never
Friday, August 15, 2014
EDITORIAL -- Last weekend, local residents, cottagers and visitors explored some historic sites as part of Haliburton Village's Sesquicentennial anniversary. For those not familiar with the term, that's 150 years. The Haliburton Highlands Museum
Friday, August 15, 2014
OPINION -- Over the long weekend, the county was a busy one and Facebook was naturally flooded with gorgeous shots of sunsets and lake views posted by cottagers and residents. Sadly, there were also several posts about poor service and rather
Friday, August 15, 2014
OPINION -- Ceramics is an art form that has always interested me (and yes, when it’s done exceptionally well it can be considered art). For a while now I’ve wanted to get my hands in some clay; make something, and then write about the experience.
Friday, August 15, 2014
OPINION -- The child screamed. His parents, immediately alert, rushed to see what had happened. In the panic, glasses smashed and an innocent bystander was brushed roughly aside. And then, there it was, the body floating motionless in the water, eyes open
Thursday, August 14, 2014
OPINION -- I am sure that many of you wouldn’t think of me as funny if you have been reading my columns on a regular basis, but I am a comedic person. I love making other people laugh. I just need to figure out how to do that without drawing too much
Thursday, August 7, 2014
EDITORIAL -- By now almost everyone has heard about the fatality on Glamorgan Road over the weekend. If you haven’t, you can read about it in this week’s Highlander. A motorcyclist was riding down a notoriously windy road when he collided with
Thursday, August 7, 2014
OPINION -- Step right up kids, it's the circle of life. See, I put the worm on this hook.Why are you putting a worm on the hook Uncle Scratchy So we can catch a fish. I want to touch the worm! Ok, you can touch the worm. Now, take the rod
26 27 28 29 30 31 32