Thursday, August 9, 2018
OPINION --- So far, half of summer has whizzed by and I am sad that it is almost over. Before long, we will all be complaining about the cold and snow and wishing that summer was here again.
Thursday, August 9, 2018
OPINION --- At the end of the day, it is the communities themselves - and the people that live there - that have to decide how short-term rentals can be accommodated in our future.
Thursday, August 2, 2018
OPINION --- So, my new truck is definitely too big for me but I'll get used to it because there's a whole army of you guys out there with trucks just as big and legs just as short as mine.
Thursday, August 2, 2018
OPINION --- In the last municipal election, Minden Hills got more newspaper ink that the other municipalities..this time around, it appears Dysart will draw more media attention than the other townships..
Thursday, August 2, 2018
OPINION --- Then thousands of us spent the night by flickering candlelight, eating something mysterious out of a can, listening to the gentle sounds of nature (generators running nearby) while occasionally flicking the light switch ...
Thursday, July 26, 2018
OPINION --- I love my dad, and as I finish writing this column, I'm happy that even after he's gone he's able to give me the inspiration, or introspection, needed to put my thoughts into words.
Thursday, July 26, 2018
OPINION -- Perhaps most importantly is to see this as a societal issue that requires the attention of all of us. It is certainly not just a political or police problem.
Thursday, July 26, 2018
OPINION --- It's time this perceived community need goes to the county council table, since no one municipality should be burdened with the cost of building and operating a swimming pool.
Thursday, July 19, 2018
OPINION --- Will Jones isn't convinced that Haliburton needs a sports hall of fame.
Thursday, July 19, 2018
OPINION --- We encourage the public to attend a public meeting on short-term rentals in Minden Hills this Saturday.
Thursday, July 12, 2018
OPINION --- But, while I love my old truck, such affairs of the heart must always come to an end and I have recently got a new truck.
Thursday, July 12, 2018
OPINION --- It’s our attitudes that need to change, not what we call our homes. Cidiots and rubes can greatly help one another as long as you’re both willing to soften your stance just a little
Thursday, July 12, 2018
OPINION --- Now’s the time to bring it back to the table. Find out what it will cost with today’s technology, look into privacy laws and approach the municipality to see if they’d get behind it.
Sunday, July 8, 2018
OPINION --- So, bring on the parents-in-law, and I'll be outside all day at the barbecue, slow roasting a giant shoulder of pork.
Sunday, July 8, 2018
OPINION --- Organizations like 100 Women Who Care provide another option for those wishing to make a difference in our community.
Sunday, July 8, 2018
OPINION --- At a time when people lament that all news is doom and gloom, we can proudly point to our new section and say, actually there's a lot of good stuff going on around here ... and we can have a whole lot of fun with it as well.
Thursday, June 28, 2018
OPINION --- Anabelle Craig finishes her first year of high school and writes about what that experience was like.
Thursday, June 28, 2018
OPINION --- I was once, in a younger incarnations, a veggie, but I strayed (yes, it was the bacon that did it) and today I'm firmly on the dark - preferably pink in the middle - side.
Thursday, June 28, 2018
OPINION --- By all means, go and see the tiny house in Minden. They are pretty cool. Sit down on the couch, close your eyes, and think for a minute about what it would be like to be there in the middle of February in a Haliburton snowstorm.
Saturday, June 23, 2018
OPINION --- Others, who'd heard it before, simply sat back and let this new tradition born and bred in Haliburton boy spin his yarn and grow into a full-blooded hunting, fishing, storytelling local.
Saturday, June 23, 2018
OPINION --- What pleases me most about the Haliburton Junction Skate Park is how out of the norm this project has turned out to be.
Saturday, June 23, 2018
OPINION --- This lack of transparency showed an utter disrespect for the centre's staff and parents and put immeasurable stress on them with school holidays just around the corner.
Friday, June 15, 2018
OPINION --- And you want to know the best bit, the most amazing thing about my perfect evening? I'm sitting in my own backyard.
Friday, June 15, 2018
OPINION --- In response to the election of a Doug Ford government last Thursday, I thought the headline 'Ok, everyone take a Valium' would be an appropriate response.
1 2 3 4 5 6 7