Wednesday, October 18, 2017
OPINION -- So, did you have a good Thanksgiving? I hope so. My little family and I did, and we want to thank you.
Wednesday, October 18, 2017
OPINION -- It’s no secret, Haliburton County has a capacity problem when it comes to waste disposal.
Monday, October 9, 2017
OPINION --- “Build your business around passion because there is no sense running a business you don’t enjoy.”
Monday, October 9, 2017
OPINION --- One local business has indeed been baked and battered by the provincial and federal government’s nonsensical approach to reform.
Monday, October 9, 2017
OPINION --- An ode to the frost as it signals a summer now lost.
Saturday, September 30, 2017
OPINION --- So … it’s a little over two weeks until Hometown Hockey comes to Haliburton County. A committee of locals has formed and they’ve admitted that they’re a little worried that people don’t realize how big of a deal this is.
Saturday, September 30, 2017
OPINION --- When I think back, I could have been starring in some horrific, 1980s made for television, vampire movie, such was the pitiful scene and my terrible attempts to act nonchalant in the face of such overwhelming odds.
Thursday, September 21, 2017
OPINION --- How do you feel about squirrels? Red squirrels? And their extermination with extreme prejudice?
Thursday, September 21, 2017
OPINION --- While the cost of policing continues to soar across Haliburton County, the service – at least from a senior management perspective at our local OPP detachment – has remained as detached as ever.
Friday, September 15, 2017
OPINION --- That's right folks. I, Anabelle Craig, the homeschooled kid from Tory Hill, has started high school.
Friday, September 15, 2017
OPINION --- A couple of stories that crossed our path this week have us questioning the value of consultants.
Friday, September 15, 2017
OPINION --- Now, you’ll have to work with me on this one as I try to describe the contraption that I found myself lying in, in a field, at five o’clock in the morning the other day. Sounds ridiculous already, right?
Thursday, September 7, 2017
OPINION --- The nervousness I felt upon entering my first year of post-secondary school in Toronto several years ago was quickly washed away thanks to a vibrant student residence on campus.
Thursday, September 7, 2017
OPINION --- As the Minden Terry Fox run organizers gear up for the 24th annual event Sept. 17, there are a lot of runners, walkers and cyclists also getting themselves ready. Many people make the Minden run an annual event.
Thursday, September 7, 2017
OPINION --- And there it was in an instant, a family divided. Mom and dad split, one sweet little daughter resolute and carrying on, the other looking apprehensive, knowing that she would have to make the important choice - do I go with mommy or daddy?
Friday, September 1, 2017
OPINION --- It was the noise: WAP WAP WAP, loud, aggressive, almost as violent as the sensation itself, which I pondered, for a millisecond or two as the pain sunk in.
Friday, September 1, 2017
OPINION --- A gentleman came up to me the other day at an event I was attending, first asking me if I was the person who writes a column for The Highlander ... then proceeded to tell me that I have “some pretty liberal ideas."
Friday, September 1, 2017
OPINION --- It was maybe the best kept secret in Haliburton County.
Friday, August 25, 2017
A new report has found that the youth summer camp industry in America’s northeast has a direct economic impact of $3.2 billion.
Friday, August 25, 2017
I came to a stunning realization the other day, a mind-blowing revelation; one that not many of you will believe, most of you will snicker at, but some of you will secretly know is the truth.
Thursday, August 17, 2017
Now, I have a feeling that during my time as The Outsider I may have previously touched upon, if that is not too unsavoury a description, the topic of outhouses
Thursday, August 17, 2017
People have noticed I seem to be hanging around the post office a lot these days.
Thursday, August 17, 2017
According to the most up-to-date figures from Stats Can, Haliburton County has a 9.3 per cent unemployment rate.
Thursday, August 10, 2017
So the court of public opinion has spoken out loud and clear, and as usual it was a lot of vitriol and bluster.
1 2 3 4 5 6 7