Friday, December 15, 2017
OPINON --- The Outsider reflects on a deer hunting season that's come to an end.
Friday, December 15, 2017
OPINION --- Charlie Teljeur weighs in on the debate about council pay.
Friday, December 15, 2017
OPINION --- This recurring theme of Haliburton County's skilled trades shortage has us scratching our heads. Why don't our high school graduates want to go to trade school and then come back and work?
Thursday, December 7, 2017
OPINION --- For the past couple of weeks, we've spent a considerable amount of time trying to get a better understanding of how schools in Haliburton County handle bullying and what is being done to protect students dealing with it.
Thursday, December 7, 2017
OPINION --- Christmas is upon us. Did I really need to write that? Kind of stating the obvious, isn’t it. Sorry, you must imagine that I think you’re all a bunch of thickos. I don’t, honest.
Thursday, November 30, 2017
OPINION --- Heavy metal and pillow fights when The Outsider is on child-sitting duty.
Thursday, November 30, 2017
OPINION --- I know, I know. You’re all a little confused about what you would like to get me for Christmas again this year. Well, fret no more my friends. I’ve reached that point in my life where I don’t need anything more.
Thursday, November 30, 2017
OPINION --- Citizens Review Committees are a good way to review and recommend council pay rates.
Friday, November 24, 2017
OPINION --- Charlie Teljeur wonders if Minden Hills is really building for the future with its planned arena upgrade.
Friday, November 24, 2017
OPINION --- The Outsider encounters #1 Doe-P for the first time.
Friday, November 24, 2017
OPINION --- The federal government, through its community futures development program, has formally announced $200,000 in grants, $100,000 each for Haliburton Forest Biochar and Quantum Passivhaus.
Thursday, November 16, 2017
OPINION --- Ever since I was little, my parents have told me stories. Whether they were stories about their lives before me (or as my mom calls it BA: Before Anabelle) and their crazy adventures or a classic fairy tale, I would listen intently.
Thursday, November 16, 2017
OPINION --- Snap goes a twig as I try to walk quietly through the bush. “Damn it.” I falter, catch my balance and curse under my breath, then, set out again.
Thursday, November 16, 2017
OPINION --- We should know today (Thursday, Nov. 16) whether the longest college strike in Ontario’s history is coming to an end.
Monday, November 13, 2017
OPINION --- It’s become shockingly clear in the past week or so that if Bill 148 goes ahead as it now stands, municipal government will be taking a huge hit.
Monday, November 13, 2017
OPINION -- It tasted so good that he had to call his wife to tell her about it. That is how my mate Jeff started to describe the experience of eating one of his very favourite meals.
Monday, November 13, 2017
OPINION --- This past weekend, you were asked to pause for a moment and think about the men and women who died in the service of this country. Remembrance Day, November 11, is an annual commemoration that marks the the truce ending World War One.
Thursday, November 2, 2017
OPINION --- Every day, more than 75 people make their way to the P & H Centre in Hanover to use the indoor walking track.
Thursday, November 2, 2017
OPINION --- Everything happens for a reason You know that ‘uh oh’ feeling, when you just gotta ‘go’, and I mean ‘GO’, a number two, if you get my drift.
Thursday, November 2, 2017
OPINION --- In recent months, both Algonquin Highlands and Minden Hills have changed the title of their head of council from reeve to mayor. I wholeheartedly agree with both the name change and the reasoning behind it.
Friday, October 27, 2017
OPINION --- The cost of simply maintaining our roads and bridges is starting to cripple Minden Hills, Dysart, Algonquin Highlands and Highlands East.
Friday, October 27, 2017
OPINION --- What do you reckon happens when two strangers, two hunters no less, meet in the woods? Both prowling through their territory.
Friday, October 27, 2017
OPINION --- As you look at this opinion piece; you are reading. You are looking at grammar, spelling, topic and sentence structure and hopefully you will enjoy reading this.
Thursday, October 19, 2017
OPINION --- The room was abuzz with the warmth and friendly chatter that comes with a family reunion.
1 2 3 4 5 6 7