Wednesday, July 17, 2019
LIFE --- Environmentalist Leora Berman has earned national acclaim, winning a Canadian Wildlife Federation award for her conservation work.
Wednesday, July 3, 2019
LIFE --- HHSS students earned Heat Bank Haliburton County $5,000 by topping their school in the Youth and Philanthropy Initiative program.
Friday, June 21, 2019
NEWS --- Hershe the moose's death was mourned by the hundreds of people who he touched over his eight years of life.
Friday, April 26, 2019
LIFE --- The Canadian Federation of University Women hosted a presentation on best practices in creating naturalized shorelines.
Wednesday, April 17, 2019
LIFE --- Charlie and Judy Davis have been volunteering with HHHS for the past 15 years and are example of the efforts celebrated during National Volunteer Week
Monday, April 15, 2019
LIFE --- Longtime Haliburton hairstylist Margo McCrae is preparing to retire after 37 years working with hair in the county.
Wednesday, March 6, 2019
NEWS --- Doris Roberts celebrated her 100th birthday surrounded by friends and family at Parklane Apartments.
Thursday, February 14, 2019
LIFE --- The love that Barbara and Peter Walford-Davis have shared for over 50 years started with a crowded cafeteria and a wave.
Wednesday, December 6, 2017
NEWS --- A community forum on ‘supporting youth in wellness’ was held last Wednesday in Haliburton, but despite repeated comments that young people must be part of a solution to what’s been deemed a community in crisis, The Highlander only found ...
Wednesday, November 29, 2017
LIFE --- More than $100,000 is going toward finding a cure for Dravet Syndrome and other genetic forms of drug-resistant epilepsy because of Katie’s Run and the Ontario Brain Institute (OBI).
Thursday, November 2, 2017
LIFE --- If there’s been a huge shift in your teen’s behaviour, suicide prevention consultant Cecilia Mare Flynn says you should talk to them about it.
Friday, September 22, 2017
NEWS --- With the danger and uncertainty behind them, the Wisos rebuild their lives in Haliburton.
Friday, August 4, 2017
HEALTH --- When Sebastian Havill was still in his mother’s womb - about to undergo life-saving heart surgery in Toronto – he had Haliburton County family and friends backing his pre-birth surgery.
Thursday, July 20, 2017
LIFE --- Kathy Yandt dropped off the teenager she is fostering at camp recently. The two had issues before the girl left and didn’t part on the best of terms. But when she returned and walked into Yandt’s home she asked, “Can I have a hug?”
Monday, June 26, 2017
NEWS --- Sharon Lawrence and Barbara Gregory have forged a friendship through reminiscing about family activities and food traditions. There were the holidays but also the fall harvest, with its pickling and preserving of fruits and vegetables.
Friday, June 23, 2017
NEWS -- When it comes to the plight of Canada’s First Nations people, high school teacher Cynthia McAlister believes it’s time to take action instead of just talking.
Friday, May 19, 2017
HEALTH --- A new report from Statistics Canada says the Haliburton, Kawartha, Pine Ridge District Health Unit has one of the highest cancer incidence and mortality rates in the country.
Monday, May 8, 2017
NEWS --- Much like an ignored physical injury, mental scars can grow, and over time, result in serious mental health issues that are difficult to recover from.
Tuesday, April 18, 2017
HEALTH --- A newly-established non-profit organization in Haliburton County is lending support to people living with cancer and their primary support person.
Tuesday, April 4, 2017
HEALTH --- Public input is needed to help develop a drug strategy to tackle substance abuse in Haliburton County and beyond.
Tuesday, March 28, 2017
NEWS --- If all goes according to plan, next year’s Canada Day celebrations in Haliburton County might include a special twist; legal marijuana.
Friday, March 24, 2017
LIFE --- Sometimes victims of domestic violence don’t leave their abuser because they are worried about their animals.
Friday, March 24, 2017
PEOPLE --- Those who knew Stephen Patrick, remember a highly intelligent man with many interests.
Friday, November 25, 2016
NEWS -- Future Ontario Early Years Centre (OEYC) client, Nolan Gallagher lays in his mother’s arms as the ribbon is cut to officially open the relocated centre at Archie Stouffer Elementary School (ASES) in Minden.
1 2 3 4 5