Tuesday, April 18, 2017
HEALTH --- A newly-established non-profit organization in Haliburton County is lending support to people living with cancer and their primary support person.
Tuesday, April 4, 2017
HEALTH --- Public input is needed to help develop a drug strategy to tackle substance abuse in Haliburton County and beyond.
Tuesday, March 28, 2017
NEWS --- If all goes according to plan, next year’s Canada Day celebrations in Haliburton County might include a special twist; legal marijuana.
Friday, March 24, 2017
LIFE --- Sometimes victims of domestic violence don’t leave their abuser because they are worried about their animals.
Friday, March 24, 2017
PEOPLE --- Those who knew Stephen Patrick, remember a highly intelligent man with many interests.
Friday, November 25, 2016
NEWS -- Future Ontario Early Years Centre (OEYC) client, Nolan Gallagher lays in his mother’s arms as the ribbon is cut to officially open the relocated centre at Archie Stouffer Elementary School (ASES) in Minden.
Thursday, November 17, 2016
NEWS -- There are moments in Larry Blanchard’s career he will never forget.
Thursday, September 15, 2016
LIFE -- Being single and pregnant was not something Candice Grimes was prepared for at the age of 23 after having just moved back from the city.
Friday, August 26, 2016
HEALTH -- An unimpressive break room in the depths of the Haliburton Hospital is where Haliburton resident Diane Smith goes to talk about the cancer that threatened her life for several years.
Thursday, August 11, 2016
LIFE: Getting to see the Pope in Krakow, Poland, is one of the experiences Joanie Tyler can boast about for her summer of 2016.
Saturday, August 6, 2016
LIFE -- There is no one on Earth who can keep Horseshoe Lake resident Mabel Brannigan still.
Thursday, July 28, 2016
LIFE -- After spending 10 days in Japan for a Lions Club conference, Betty and David Mills have returned to the county.
Friday, May 20, 2016
NEWS -- When Malcolm MacLean saw a need he was the first in line to help.
Friday, May 20, 2016
REVIEW -- A quick summary of stories you should keep an eye on this summer.
Friday, May 6, 2016
LIFE -- A medical mission to Haiti isn’t just a bucket list item for Jennifer Button, it's a cause close to her heart.
Saturday, January 16, 2016
LIFE -- During lessons, students of all ages at Archie Stouffer Elementary School (ASES) take movement breaks, engage in brain puzzles and develop compassion for others.
Thursday, January 14, 2016
NEWS -- Three-year-old Jacob Bateman has a new kidney and is ready to start living his life outside of a hospital. Dates and periods of time spent at the hospital have been a big part of the West Guilford boy’s short but busy life.
Friday, January 1, 2016
LIFE -- Mike Jackson was always smiling. Anyone who knew him would agree.
Thursday, November 12, 2015
LIFE -- On Nov. 9, Highlands East councillors passed a resolution in support of an amendment to the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms that would recognize every Canadian's right to a healthy environment.
Thursday, October 15, 2015
LIFE -- It's the kind of celebration that happens once every century. On Oct. 11, three of the five surviving generations of the Heaven family marked 100 years in the Highlands at a special reunion where it all began...
Monday, September 21, 2015
LIFE -- The Trillium Lakelands District School Board hasn’t received any formal complaints about the new health and physical education curriculum, but some local parents are questioning changes made to its sexual education component...
Wednesday, September 9, 2015
LIFE -- The second last week of summer in the Highlands is generally the first of two weeks when heavy consumer traffic begins to decline and seasonal staff returns to school. This year, businesses around the county...
Thursday, August 13, 2015
LIFE -- When there’s a meal at the Kosy Korner named for you, you know you are an iconic Haliburtonian. Gerald Marshall, or Cowboy as he was often known around town, didn’t even have to order the ‘Cowboy Special’ on his regular visits to the Kosy...
Friday, August 7, 2015
LIFE -- Local children and parents had people sucking on lemons and enjoying lemonade for a cause they're very passionate about...
1 2 3 4