Saturday, November 17, 2018
NEWS: Haliburton Highlands Secondary School students honoured veterans and performed a silent play in honour of Remembrance Day Nov. 9.
Saturday, November 17, 2018
NEWS: Alanna Mitchell presented before a packed theatre in Haliburton about the damage climate change is having on the world's oceans.
Wednesday, September 26, 2018
ARTS --- Their jewellery has been sold across Canada, at high-end retailers such as Holt Renfrew, Fabrice, KSP and the Ontario Art Gallery. And, now, they’re taking part in their 13th Haliburton County Studio Tour.
Monday, September 17, 2018
ARTS --- Studio Tour preview show continuing in Minden
Saturday, August 18, 2018
EVENT --- Marie and Donald Gage will be hosting the newly-formed rootsacoustic trio, The Primary Colours, at a house concert on Aug. 20.
Tuesday, April 17, 2018
PEOPLE --- Music is a common language that links generations, families and stories. It’s an experience, a memory, a feeling. Music lives on in people’s hearts and minds, and few have offered this universal language to a community more than Earl Cooper.
Sunday, January 21, 2018
ARTS --- Caitlin Dunlop is passionate about photography – so passionate that she’s opened her own business based out of Minden at the age of just 22. It’s a leap of faith … and it’s making her very happy right now.
Wednesday, January 3, 2018
ARTS --- On Dec. 21 and 22, the Highlands Opera Studio (HOS) staged Mishabooz’s Realm at the Northern Lights Performing Arts Pavilion in Haliburton.
Thursday, November 30, 2017
ARTS --- Canoe FM has tapped into a new section of its website to auction off the work of four local artists and raise some money by doing so.
Thursday, July 20, 2017
ARTS --- Seventeen-year-old Cassidy Glecoff has had a hard time keeping up with surprises this year.
Monday, June 26, 2017
ARTS --- Feel like looking for a hidden treasure and setting a beggar free? How about solving a long-standing mystery?
Monday, March 6, 2017
NEWS -- Tori Allin, a student at Haliburton Highlands Secondary School (HHSS) and member of the school’s White Pine Book Club, says there is a perception that a lot of kids don’t read anymore. However, that couldn’t be further from the truth, she says.
Thursday, February 9, 2017
ARTS -- A Bancroft high school teacher with local roots is on top of the world.
Sunday, November 20, 2016
ARTS -- Multiple award-winning shows, including a Broadway Pulitzer Prize winner, are scheduled for the Highlands Summer Festival’s 2017 season.
Thursday, November 3, 2016
ARTS -- VIP tickets for the Tenth Haliburton International Film Festival have already been sold out, according to organizers.
Thursday, September 8, 2016
ARTS -- Grade 12 student Cassidy Glecoff will be packing her bags and flying to London, U.K. in December to compete in the final round of the Open Mic International Singing Competition.
Monday, August 1, 2016
ARTS -- Sixteen-year-old Cassidy Glecoff had to beat out about 200,000 contest hopefuls to secure one of 13 spots in the Open Mic International Singing Competition.
Thursday, June 23, 2016
ARTS -- The SPARC Network (Supporting Performing Arts in Rural Communities) has announced that it is embarking on an exciting new project thanks to a three-year $548,000 Grow grant from the Ontario Trillium Foundation.
Friday, May 13, 2016
ARTS -- Newcomers to outdoor painting should start small, and work towards the exquisite vistas, suggests Tory Hill artist Gary Blundell.
Friday, May 13, 2016
ARTS -- Dr. Agnes Jamieson was short but mighty, according to Minden resident Elizabeth Carrell, and she worked hard to establish the art gallery which hosts multiple exhibits every year and bears her name.
Thursday, April 28, 2016
NEWS -- Greg Thomas has found his dream job more than 5,000 km from home, in rural Haliburton, Ont.
Friday, April 29, 2016
ARTS -- A selfie is more than a photo. It’s a form of self-reflection, says Rails End Gallery curator Laurie Jones.
Thursday, March 10, 2016
ARTS -- A paper duck floats down a river against a smoggy backdrop that tells the story of a poisoned natural habitat. That’s just a tiny excerpt from artist Maayke Schurer’s video-art on display at the Agnes Jamieson Gallery
Saturday, January 23, 2016
ARTS -- Artist Laurie O’Reilly calls herself an observer and storyteller. The West Guilford resident was elected to the Society of Canadian Artists (SCA) last year.
1 2 3